About Tordillas


The institute for digital law and society (ToRDiLaS) is a research institute that focuses on issues relating to the law, legal policy development and digital society. This institute will observe and analyse on how law and public policy can foster a prosperous society, improve quality of life, protect human rights, and strengthen democracy, rule of law and good governance. The development of legal thought within digital society has rapidly accelerated with the emergence of social media, e-commerce, fintech, cryptocurrency, cybercrime, cyber-security, data protection and all the internet devices as well as the other online applications. ​

In part, the institute is inspired by the “law and society studies” developed by Prof. Satjipto Rahardjo since 1979. The research method will be carried out by the institution can be said as the continuous works of Prof Satjipto Rahardjo and his law and society studies, with a particular focus on the digital era. The approach employed in law and public policy studies on the topic of information technology is based on socio-legal and multidisciplinary methods.

Our Program


We conduct research into digital law and society, attempt to identify problems and potential solutions. Specifically, we investigate current legal issues regarding general digital law, social media, ecommerce, fintech, cryptocurrency, cybercrime, cyber-security, data protection.


We attempt to involve stakeholders in the digital law policy-making process. Besides that, we also provide legal assistance to vulnerable people who have been victimized by problems relating to digital law.


We provide training and education to government bodies, NGOs, and organizations who want to improve their understanding of digital law in Indonesia

The Founders

Prof Mella Ismelina F. Rahayu, SH, MHum
Dr. Awaludin Marwan, SH, MH, MA
Ariehta Eleison Sembiring, S.H., LL.M,
Affan Giffari, S.H., LL.M,

Researchers and Experts

Dr. Herlambang Wiratraman
Dr. Widodo Dwi Putro
Teguh Arifiyadi, SH, MH
Dr. Eduardo Arenas Catalán
René J. Rouwette
Rowan Davies
Dr. Wijayanto
Bunga Meisa Routy Siagian, SH, MSc
Muhtar Said
Akhyar Sadad, Ad. Eng., ST.
Kunto Nurcahyoko
Setya Indera Arifin
Ryan Edhvira Prabowo
Unu Herlambang


Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google
Consent to display content from Spotify
Sound Cloud
Consent to display content from Sound
Contact Us